Building Bridges Building Bridges

Building Bridges›› Berlin concerts



© Roger Mastroianni

Biography

Praised for his “revelatory” (New York Times) and “technically flawless, poetically inspired and immensely assured playing” (Toronto Star), pianist Jiayan Sun performs extensively in the North America, Europe, and Asia. He has performed frequently with The Cleveland Orchestra, The Hallé, Chinese and RTÉ (Ireland) National Symphony Orchestras, Fort Worth and Toledo Symphony Orchestras, Toronto and Aspen Concert Orchestras, etc., and he has conducted the Meininger Hofkapelle from the keyboard. He has collaborated with prominent conductors such as Sir Mark Elder, Michail Jurowski, Stefan Sanderling, Leon Fleisher and Xincao Li and played at Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York, Severance Hall in Cleveland, Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, National Concert Hall in Dublin, Leeds Town Hall, Beethoven-Haus in Bonn, Beijing Concert Hall, Taipei National Concert Hall, among many others. His performances have been broadcasted on BBC, RTÉ, China Central Television, and classical music radio stations throughout North America.

Mr. Sun has been awarded many major prizes in international piano competitions, including the third prize in Leeds International Piano Competition, the second prize in Dublin International Piano Competition, the fourth and audience prize in Cleveland International Piano Competition and the first prize in the inaugural CCC Toronto International Piano Competition. He was named a “Sylff Fellow” by The Tokyo Foundation and is a Center for Musical Excellence Young Artist.

Playing early keyboard instruments and studies on historical performance practice play a significant role in Mr. Sun's musical activities. Important engagements include recent appearance with the American Classical Orchestra in a critically acclaimed performance of the Beethoven Concerto No. 5 in Alice Tully Hall, and recitals at the Westfield Center for Historical Keyboard Studies at Cornell University and at Juilliard. In 2014, he performed a series of recitals commemorating the tri-centennial of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach's birth on clavichord, harpsichord, and fortepiano. He has studied harpsichord with Lionel Party and fortepiano with Malcolm Bilson and Audrey Axinn.

Born in Yantai, Shandong Province, China in 1990, Mr. Sun studied in the Central Conservatory in Beijing with Jin Zhang before moving to the United States in 2006 to study at The Juilliard School pre-college Division with Victoria Mushkatko. He graduated with the achievement award in 2008. He received his Bachelor's and Master's degrees from The Juilliard School in 2012 and 2014 respectively. He continues his studies at Juilliard as a doctoral candidate under the tutelage of Yoheved Kaplinsky and Stephen Hough, with additional studies with Richard Goode and Robert Levin. He performs frequently at Juilliard and has participated in the annual ChamberFest and Focus! Festival. He has performed and participated in Aspen Music Festival, Verbier Festival, Sarasota Music Festival, PianoTexas, Pianofest on Long Island, etc. His devotion to the art of composition led him to study with the composer Philip Lasser. His works have been performed in concerts at Juilliard. For more information, please visit jiayansunpianist.com.

Programme

C. P. E. Bach: Sonate Nr. 1 D-Dur, von Klavier-Sonaten und freie Fantasien nebst einigen Rondos fürs Fortepiano, für Kenner und Liebhaber, Sechste Sammlung, Wq. 61 No. 2

Beethoven: Sonate Fis-Dur op. 78
Adagio cantabile – Allegro ma no troppo. – Allegro vivace

Janáček: 1.X.1905 (Von der Straße – 1. Okt. 1905)
Vorahnung (Předtucha) – Con moto – Tod (Smrt) – Adagio

Ravel: Sonatine
I. Modéré
II. Mouvement de Menuet
III. Animé

Busoni: Kammer-Fantasie über Bizets ‘Carmen’, BV 284 (Sonatine Nr. 6)

Bartók: Sonate, Sz. 80
Allegro moderato
Sostenuto e pesante
Allegro molto


Concerts

04.03.18 - Brüssel (BE) - 11:00 am.
07.03.18 - Berlin (DE) - 20:00 pm.
08.03.18 - Marbach (DE) - TBA
10.03.18 - Ittingen (CH) - 18:00 pm.
This biography is to be reproduced without any changes, omissions or additions, unless expressly authorized by artist management.


Impresariat Simmenauer GmbH : Kurfürstendamm 211 : D-10719 Berlin : Tel. +49-30-414 781 710 : Fax +49-30-414 781 713
 
String Quartet
Ensemble
Violin
Violoncello
Mandolin
Voice
Clarinet
Piano
Projects

Building Bridges Building Bridges

Building Bridges›› Berliner Konzerte



© Roger Mastroianni

Biografie

Von der New York Times für sein “offenbarendes” und vom Toronto Star für sein “technisch makelloses, poetisch inspirierendes und immens sicheres” Spiel gelobt, hat Jiayan Sun bereits zahlreiche Konzerte in Nordamerika, Europa und Asien gegeben. Er tritt regelmäßig mit führenden Klangkörpern auf, u. a. mit dem Cleveland und Hallé Orchestra, dem Chinesischen und dem irischen RTÉ Nationalen Symphonieorchester, dem Fort Worth und Toledo Symphony Orchestra sowie dem Toronto und Aspen Concert Orchestra. Zudem leitete er die Meininger Hofkapelle vom Klavier aus. Dabei arbeitet er mit renommierten Dirigenten wie Sir Mark Elder, Michail Jurowski, Stefan Sanderling, Leon Fleisher und Xincao Li. Auf vielen großen Bühnen war er zu Gast, so in der Carnegie Hall und dem Lincoln Center in New York, der Severance Hall in Cleveland, dem Großen Saal des Konservatoriums Moskau, der National Concert Hall in Dublin, der Leeds Town Hall, dem Beethoven-Haus in Bonn, der Beijing Concert Hall und der Taipei National Concert Hall. Die Konzerte wurden bei der BBC, RTÉ, bei China Central Television und vielen klas-sischen Radiostationen in ganz Nordamerika übertragen.

Jiayan Sun wurde mit vielen Preisen bei internationalen Wettbewerben ausgezeichnet. So erhielt er den Dritten Preis beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb in Leeds, den Zweiten Preis in Dublin und den Vierten und Publikumspreis in Cleveland sowie den Ersten Preis bei der ersten Ausgabe der CCC Toronto International Piano Competition. Zudem wurde er als “Sylff Fellow” von der Tokyo Foundation ernannt und gehört zur Riege der Young Artist des Center for Musical Excellence.

Die Interpretation auf historischen Instrumenten und die Beschäftigung mit historisch informierter Aufführungspraxis spielen eine große Rolle in Jiayan Suns musikalischem Wirken. Wichtige jüngste Auftritte umfassen seine von Kritikern hochgelobte Interpretation von Beethovens 5. Klavierkonzert mit dem American Classical Orchestra in der Alice Tully Hall sowie Klavierabende im Westfield Center for Historical Keyboard Studies an der Cornell University und an der Juilliard School. 2014 gab er eine Reihe von Rezitalen in Erinnerung an die 300. Jahrestag der Geburt Carl Philipp Emanuel Bachs am Klavichord, dem Cembalo und dem Fortepiano. Cembalo studierte Jiayan Sun bei Lionel Party und Fortepiano bei Malcolm Bilson und Audrey Axinn.

Jiayan Sun wurde 1990 im chinesischen Yantai in der Provinz Shandong geboren und studierte am zentralen Konservatorium in Peking bei Jin Zhang, bevor er 2006 in die USA zog, um an die Pre-College-Abteilung der Juilliard School zu Victoria Mushkatko zu wechseln, wo er 2008 mit Auszeichnung abschloss. 2012 und 2014 erhielt er den Bachelor- und Mastergrad. Als Doktorand führt er seine Studien an der Juilliard School unter Yoheved Kaplinsky und Stephen Hough fort, mit zusätzlichen Kursen bei Richard Goode und Robert Levin. Jiayan Sun tritt regelmäßig an der Juilliard School auf und nahm am jährlichen ChamberFest und dem Focus! Festival teil. Zudem war er zu Gast beim Aspen und Saratoga Music Festival, beim Verbier Festival, bei PianoTexas und beim Pianofest on Long Island. Sein Interesse an Komposition führte ihn zu Studien beim Komponisten Philip Lasser. Seine Werke sind bereits bei Konzerten an der Juilliard School aufgeführt worden. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter jiayansunpianist.com.

Programm

C. P. E. Bach: Sonate Nr. 1 D-Dur, von Klavier-Sonaten und freie Fantasien nebst einigen Rondos fürs Fortepiano, für Kenner und Liebhaber, Sechste Sammlung, Wq. 61 No. 2

Beethoven: Sonate Fis-Dur op. 78
Adagio cantabile – Allegro ma no troppo. – Allegro vivace


Janáček: 1.X.1905 (Von der Straße – 1. Okt. 1905)
Vorahnung (Předtucha) – Con moto – Tod (Smrt) – Adagio

Ravel: Sonatine
I. Modéré
II. Mouvement de Menuet
III. Animé

Busoni: Kammer-Fantasie über Bizets ‘Carmen’, BV 284 (Sonatine Nr. 6)

Bartók: Sonate, Sz. 80
Allegro moderato
Sostenuto e pesante
Allegro molto



Konzerte

04.03.18 - Brüssel (BE) - 11:00 Uhr
07.03.18 - Berlin (DE) - 20:00 Uhr
08.03.18 - Marbach (DE) - TBA
10.03.18 - Ittingen (CH) - 18:00 Uhr
This biography is to be reproduced without any changes, omissions or additions, unless expressly authorized by artist management.


Impresariat Simmenauer GmbH : Kurfürstendamm 211 : D-10719 Berlin : Tel. +49-30-414 781 710 : Fax +49-30-414 781 713
 
Streichquartett
Ensemble
Violine
Violoncello
Mandoline
Gesang
Klarinette
Klavier
Projekte